Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Longitudinal V8 into an F40 Replica

Longitudinal V8 into an F40 Replica

Well I decided to start my own thread rather than to keep posting in all the F40 build threads. To the owners of those threads sorry for the clutter I added.

First a little about me, I have been a car guy since I was 14 I have owned and restored everything from muscle cars, to Jags, and most recently built a darn near 100% custom Dodge Stealth RT/TT my first real foray into the world of fuel injection, computers and turbos. I mounted a widebody kit on my Stealth and had a custom hood and bumper designed for the car, custom two toned leather interior, the car had upgraded turbos, fuel system, CF drive shaft and dynoed 423 at the wheels pushing 20 lbs of boost. I showed and raced it for two years after a two year build and just recently sold it. I live for the build phase of projects, I am by no means an expert but I do know my way around a garage.

I am in the process of trying to procure my F40 Replica but seeing as I don't own one yet I am not posting this in the build thread area.

I have been talking with Dave Held about his rear subframe set up to accomplish a 3" stretch on the base Fiero this accomplishes several things:
    -It allows for a correct F40 wheel base of 96.5"
    -It improves the suspension
    -Has some great options for brake upgrades
    -It will allow for a longitudinal V8 to be fitted in the vehicle which I think is critical for a more accurate Replica build.
    -It gets rid of all the fiero rear end sheet metal and trunk stuff that takes away from the realism factor when an F40 Replica has its rear end raised upwards.