Thread: MR2KITS.co.uk GTF Liverpool?

MR2KITS.co.uk GTF Liverpool?

Hi, I am a newbie to the kit car world hence this being my first post. I am planning to embark on building one of mr2kits' GTF kit. I am looking around for a donor car at the moment if anyone has any advice on what to look for in a good donor e.g. Good engine, low mileage etc... Please let me know. I have looked into kits from DNA, Extreme BAD etc... I did like the look of extremes kits as I would rather use a 406 kit car (reason being they say the MR2's wheel base is a whole 9 inches too short and the 406 being only 0.5 on an inch short and the windscreen angle being closer to the original F430). However, I'm on a budget so DNA, Extreme kits are going to be too expensive.As I say I am new to the kit car world and this will be my first build. Planning on renting out a small garage for a couple of months for the build and I am also planning on cutting the costs by building and spraying the car myself. I just wanted to ask what the pros/cons on using the GTF kit (If any) and if anyone has completed one of these kits in the past how did you find it, any advice for a beginner? Better still if anyone lives near the Liverpool area that has built a replica F430/360 and could let me have a look at their build that would be great. I am planning on buying everything I need from MR2KITS.co.uk full kit, lights, exhaust, interior etc... Hopefully they may offer me a discount on buying in bulk. I am putting away 10K for the whole build inc donor car. Do you think this is enough? If anyone has any advice to steer me in the right direction please let me know. Thanks, James

Go to the up and coming shows, there's a Mr2kits build on the forum, have a search around for it. David Jones molds were of good quality but the reason they are not as popular as say extreme and dna is the slightly squashed look of them.