Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Budget Build My Velo Rossa

Budget Build My Velo Rossa

Hi All!!

I'm new to the Mad Mechanics forum. I have no training or expertise in the automotive industry. I'm purely a kit car/custom car hobbyist... a simple novice. As I approached retirement age, and our two sons went off to college, I decided it was time to fulfill that life long dream of building a unique custom car that I could call my own. I had worked with my boys on their first cars... a 1967 Mercury Cougar and a 1970 Pontiac LeMans. Most of this work entailed making necessary repairs and a few upgrades. I did manage to complete an engine swap in the late '90s. I installed a Buick 3800 V6 into my Triumph TR7. That experience and the work on my boys cars fanned the flames of my desire to build an entire car. I had been searching the web for years, contemplating which kit to buy. The first obvious choice was the Cobra. I researched and researched all the manufacturers I could find and two things became very clear to me. As much as I love the classic shape and modern performance available in the replicas, there are just too many of them out there to make me feel that mine was truly unique, and every kit had an initial cost well out of my budget. I found this last point to be true about most of the kits on the market.

When I came across the Velo Rossa website, I was struck firstly by beautiful lines of the car and secondly by the price of the body kit. I could buy a cheap donor car, work on its mechanics a little at a time, and save for the body kit to be be purchased down the line.

So, about 5 years ago I embarked on this build with the purchase of my 1974 Datsun 260Z donor. I purchased a none running car for $350 with the full intention of replacing the inline 6 with a V8. So I spent the better part of a year disassembling the donor and replacing the rusted floor pans. This is where I learned (by trial and error) the basics of welding.

Name:  comp1.jpg