Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Paint job for a DNA kit car (in California)

Orange County, California - 40 miles from Los Angeles

Paint job for a DNA kit car (in California)

Howdy people,
    I'm trying to assemble some info regarding the possibility of putting together either an extreme Murci or a DNA 430/Scuderia. I am going to buy the donor (MR2 MKII, MR2 MKIII, or cougar) this summer.

I have been emailing paint shops and body shops for quotes but I have seldom received replies. I am not an EXPERT, but how much have you guys paid for a paint job on your murcielago replicas and/or your DNA kit cars?
    What would be a good/fair price and what would be a ridiculous one for a paint job? Again, sorry for the questions, but I am fairly new to the kit car industry and I wanted to avoid being ripped off if possible.

Additionally, if you can recommend a reliable shop that does outstanding paint jobs in southern California, please let me know. Thanks

$1500-3000 for a decent quality job assuming all body work is done

If body work is needed $6-12000

Hi Fauzzrari,
    Thank you for the reply. I don't know if the DNA kits need body work done to them, but I will contact Paul this week. Hopefully they don't require it. It'd much nicer having a bill between 1500-3000 rather than 6-12K.
    In the meantime, can anybody confirm how much body work needed to be done on the dna or extreme kits?
    Thank you and have a great day everybody

The dna kit needs tidying up and general aligning polyester work, not that bad really
    The extreme is a little more work although nice results can be obtained for both, best to look on the oc's to get an idea of finishing required. PLEASE be aware these are good quality kits and you pay the money for the quality, some of the cheap kits are cheap for a reason.
    Any reason why you favour extreme over John Watson, there's plenty of posts praising the quality of his kit.
    D

Hi Dangerrous,