Thread: Were did everyone get there experience of working on cars?

Were did everyone get there experience of working on cars?

Me I have very little experience however it started from my shop class in Highschool then I went to college for a little bit then kind of stopped until recently I got my camaro then I had the nerve to pick up the tools again.

Otherwise I normally watched shows like dream car garage, the power block on sundays and other TV shows that were automotive related.

However how does one go about building a kitcar? How did you learn your craft?

Re: Were did everyone get there experience of working on cars?

My Dad used to race Formula Vee's (open wheeled race cars with a VW engine mounted midships) when I was growing up so I was in the garage helping him tear stuff down and put it back together most nights and weekends .

I have rebuilt/refreshed many cars over the years as well. I pretty much can't leave anything alone really......

Cheers
    Don
    308 Ferrari replica
    Prova Countach 5000QV

12 years old:Gran Turismo 1
    14 years old:Gran Turismo 2
    15 years old:Gran Turismo 3
    16-17 took an online college for auto mechanic( all while in highschool)
    16.5: modifying first car: volvo 850
    18:modifying second car Honda Civic SI( it was more of restoration) worked at couple car shops by then
    19:modifying third car: Acura TL (also started engineering at Wentworth Institute of Technology)
    23: currently restoring E38 BMW 740IL and with 2 semesters left in engineering school.

but biggest credit goes to GOOGLE

i am also probably the biggest stoker on this site cause everything here fascinates me...

Kit Cars will be next after the 740 is done and once i graduate.I feel like i finally have enough knowledge and experience to actually build and finish a replica.

Not trying to sound funny, but I simply got my experience of working on cars, by working on cars. Problem started when I was about 15. I'm now 44. I have learned ALOT!