Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: question about getting pulled over in a replica car

question about getting pulled over in a replica car

I was thinking about it for a kit car on a fiero frame according to the title and your registation/plates its a fiero but its a lambo or whatnot. So my question is anyone ever been pulled over and had any problems? Looking at it in the cops point of view plates say its a fiero but he sees a lambo so he will think fake plates or stolen car. Which then leads me to my next question is there a way to prevent any confusion?

Re: question about getting pulled over in a replica car

carry build photos of the car along side the insurance, only proof you got that it was a fiero

even if you have a real lambo,the cops think it's a Fiero KIT CAR.

As a former cop my .02 worth is that most of them understand at least in general terms what a kit car is in the bigger cities, I was a deputy marshall in San Antonio. Now out here in the sticks of Mississippi you may find a few that will not.

My advice is to inform the officer as soon as he approaches your window that it is a replica/kit car and what type of vehicle it will come back as either on his data terminal or from the dispatcher. Better to hear it from you up front.

All this being said I have been out of that type of uniform for about 8 years now.....so if there are current officers here by all means chime in on this.

michael
    Building a F40 replica, 4.9 caddy, 5 speed.

I think this applies nationwide because these are Federal mandates, But the NY state penal law is written this way... Basically you cant touch the VIN plate, You are not allowed to remove it, Reapply it, cover it up, move its location unless you are the Vehicle Manufacturer Or the DMV. In this case it would be pontiac that can move the VIN or the NYS DMV.