Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there a McLaren body?

Is there a McLaren body?

I've got the urge to build a McLaren F1 like car. I'm definitely not picky about being exact and I will be using a standard 2 seater setup. I just like the overall look of the McLaren body with the gullwing doors and the roof scoop.

So, is anyone out there manufacturing a fiberglass body of this car, replica or close-resembling? I've seen the DDR SP4/SP8, it's very nice looking and would fit the bill perfectly, but it's a bit pricey and I have my own tube-frame that I wish to use. The guy in Poland is doing a nice job but he's in Poland and I don't think he's selling copies of the body anyways. I already found some 3D plans and cross-section drawings of the McLaren, but I'm no artist and I think it still takes a bit of an artist to make a 3D copy, even using templates. Anyways, I'm hoping someone out there maybe has a mold made already?

Re: Is there a McLaren body?

you might want to pm webslinger or raptor x.. I remember both of them talking about Mcleeren f1's

is this colin? if it is,welcome. are you wanting a diffrent body for your labala chassis?

john

Quote Originally Posted by stryker
    is this colin? if it is,welcome. are you wanting a diffrent body for your labala chassis?

john
    Yeah. I've been looking into something with doors, roof, and a little bit wider. My attempt at a roof for the La Bala was pitiful.

Quote Originally Posted by kman0066

john
    Yeah. I've been looking into something with doors, roof, and a little bit wider. My attempt at a roof for the La Bala was pitiful.
    i will be cutting my body,i am going to extend the rear ten inches or so behind the rear tires.i am also wideing the body 6 to 8 inches.once you get the car outside of the garage it seem to get smaller.(LOL) i will work more on my top next winter,the design is looking good,alot of trail and error to get the windows i want.

john

yea the mclrn is coming by nov this year ;D