View Poll Results: How long did it take to finish your kit?

Voters
19. You may not vote on this poll
  • Experienced builder: less than 6 months

1 5.26%
  • 1st time builder: less than 6 months

2 10.53%
  • Experienced builder: +/- 1 year

1 5.26%
  • 1st time builder: +/- 1 year

1 5.26%
  • Experienced builder: between 1 and 2 years

0 0%
  • 1st time builder: between 1 and 2 years

4 21.05%
  • More than 2 years

1 5.26%
  • Forever (still building)

9 47.37%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long did it take to finish your kit?

How long did it take to finish your kit?

Hi all.
    A recent post from a member of the forum (alpina-ferrari) made me wonder.....and worry a bit. I am a first time builder clos to make the step of buying the kit; i've got some skills with fyber but none in mechanics. When i read about kitcars and average built time in kitcar builder's sites they mostly talk about few months (hours). I am just curious about how this applies to reality and how long does normally take to build in fact a kit car for the average user. Wile i know that is not easy to answer and mostly depends from how much time you can invest in your hobby, i hope that the options of the poll can help to give a useful indication.
    Thanx for voting

Re: How long did it take to finish your kit?

Took me about a year start to finish on this most recent 308 replica. I had some experience "fiddling with" and reworking my previous one.

However with this current one, From Day One, I planned to do another V8 Swap. Either 4.9 or another SBC (Decided on the SBC).

So . . . after 6 plus years of being finished, I decided about 2 years back to start "ripping into it" again.

The SBC Swap is done. I'm just finishing my exhaust now. Since it was an Auto trans before - I certainly couldn't leave it like that so I converted to a Getrag. I just need to run my clutch line and install my pedals and finish my wiring.