Thread: Newbie here with LOTS of questions

Newbie here with LOTS of questions

I'm a newbie, so please treat me as such.
    I have aspirations of building a car. I have a criteria and I'm not sure if there is a kit equipped with what I'm looking for.

- I am looking for a supercar kit to build. Style examples include the DDR Motorsport SP4/SP8, Factory-Five GTM, Racecar Replicas Superlite Coupe & Nemesis and the Ultima GTR. Something original design, no Ferrari or Lambo replicas. A Formula / Le Mans car like the Pugeot 908 would be ideal.

- I am not interested in using any donor parts. I am not interested in scraping away years of rust and cutting off brittle bolts. I don't want to spend thousands of dollars building a car with used parts like a Corvette engine with 90,000 miles on it.

- I am a professional auto dealership technician and have mechanical experience only. I have never done body work, metal fab or ever welded. My ideal kitcar would be a completely bolt-on kit.

So my question is, AM I CRAZY? Does a kit out there really exist? Is there a kit that has all the parts, nuts and bolts included? Is there something with an instruction manual? Have any of you completed multiple builds and have an idea of what these would cost?

Thanks! -Jason
    Name:  peugeot908.jpg
Views: 339
Size:  62.4 KB

I doubt that design meets legal laws with the bumper being so different... its just that Ive never hear of anything like that on the road.

The closest thing to meet your requirements would be the GTM or one of Fran's creations at RCR. You can buy a crate motor and a transmission from someone like CMS and you won't have to do any disassembly. Fran offers his suspension so you won't have to get any from a donor or if you go with the GTM you can have the salvage yard do all of the hard work of taking the parts off and cleaning. It just depends on your budget and how much you are willing to do and how much you are willing to pay to have done.