Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Insurance for Kits in Toronto

Insurance for Kits in Toronto

Hi, I just joined this site, and have found the quality of information on here to be quite high.
    I live in Toronto Ontario, and am hoping to purchase a Turnkey kitcar very soon, I hoping for an exotic like a 355 Spyder. I plan on this car being my weekend, summer ride. My question is how does one insure a kit like this for everyday use. I spoke with my broker from Zurich and they would not even touch me on it because it was a kit, instead they refered me to a "High-Risk" Insurance group. This high risk insurer knew exactly what a kit was and gave me the quote of $12,000!!! mind you I am a 19 year old driver, however I have no tickets, accidents, or claims. I would appreciate any advice, insurance companies, or suggestions you might have to help me, thanks for anything you have to offer..

kitcarnut

Re:Insurance for Kits in Toronto

Well after 5 years my insurance told me adios amigo no more kit cars. I spend days on phone with all kinds of insurance company,MTO, and Ontario goverment re where in the hell can I get any kind of insurance.
    #1 if you have simple rebody on Fiero it's a KitCar.
    #2 if you changed dash and removed VIN # it's a KitCar registered in the year you finished.let say 2003 you title year is 2003
    #3 if you have tube frame build up kitcar(no donor) you are basicaly F....d.cause it's now Homebuild ( HOM) and you have to go through so many regulation and safety it'll make you cry.
    and when you get any insurance it is not worth it to drive for those 3-4months in Ontario climate.
    anybody knows of any Insurance company that would? let me know

Lant & Co. Insurance Brokers Ltd.
    37 Sandiford Drive, Suite 100, Stouffville, ON L4A 7X5
    Phone: (905) 640-4111 Fax: (905) 640-4450 Toll Free: (800)461-4099
    E-mail: Tony@Lant-ins.ca
    http://www.lant-ins.ca/

Tell them that Powerhouse Sports.net sent you!