Thread: Me and my "Stupid Newbie" questions...

Me and my "Stupid Newbie" questions...

Hello all!

My name is Major Mathis and, as stated in the subject, I am a "Stupid Newbie" to the kit car industry. I call myself this, simply because I haven't the foggiest clue as to what direction to point myself in, in this industry. Though I am new to the kit car industry, I (personally) am not new to cars/motorsports. Roughly 14 years ago, I began to get intrested in cars (before this, I was all about motorcycles since I was only 10 years old). Since then, I have restored a '69 Mach 1, a '70 Boss 302, a "totaled" 84.5 20th Anniversry GT350, an '87 Mustang LX coupe, and my baby, a 85.5 SVO Mustang. I'm borde with my Mustangs, now, and have gotten rid of every sports car I owned. What a mistake. Now, it's time to get back into it with a new angle...Exotic kit cars.

Being new to the industry, I'm full of questions ... Stupid Newbie questions. I love the Lambo kits, (primarily the '99 Roadsters) but it seems that these are fairly difficult and costly to build. What could someone do with around $25K, 14+ years of fabrication experience (Steel, aluminum and fiberglass) and an entire shop full of fabrication "toys"? Just about the only thing that I do not have is a CNC, but I do have a milling machine though it is manual, not computerized. I'm not stricty resigned to the Lambo kits, either. I believe that I am actually leaning towards the Ferrari kits for my first build.

Though I am looking foward to sliding into town in another sweet ride, I am also looking to become a turnkey builder ... IF there is truely money to be made in it. I know that there has to be some, else there would not be so many companies building them. Where should I start to look for good Ferrari kits, and can you truely make money as a turnkey builder?

Sorry I'm so long winded, but I have not only these questions, but a few thousand more, as well. I'll ask those at a later date, though ;D !

Sincerely,