Thread: total newbie

total newbie

I stumbled across kit cars while I was trying to figure out the best way to get a fast car for cheap...real cheap.
    I've got a ton of questions, but im sure you guys have played 20 questions with newbies a billion times already.
    Im looking for a fast car that's street legal and preferrably has heat/ac....and is cheap.
    safety is my biggest worry... im not gonna get anything without airbags. Is it even possible to put airbags in a kit car?

can anyone suggest some good books or articles?

Re: total newbie

possible yes but what you want is totally the opposite of what kit cars really are. sure there are great performing kir cars out there but only the noble, ultima, and westfields will get you relatively cheap performance.

about airbags: yes its possible to put one in but its usually too much hassle and cost, as well as the fact that its not designed for a kitcar (might not even go off in a crash) :P

count on $25k+ to get a decent car.
    Professional 3D, web, graphic, architectural, interior, and CAM design at affoardable prices.<br />Any questions: voicemail/fax (323)281-0583<br />sales @ rt-network.com

You could get a Cobra pretty cheap. But, all cars are kits at some stage...why not buy a Mustang and wedge something big under the hood - that would be cheap (well, cheaper).

Quote Originally Posted by AutoMX
    count on $25k+ to get a decent car.
    ouch, didn't realize cost was so steep. Saw some kit cars goin for ~3k on ebay and figured they would cost less than a factory-made car

Quote Originally Posted by thisisausername
    Saw some kit cars goin for ~3k on ebay and figured they would cost less than a factory-made car