Thread: Used kit car prices

Used kit car prices

I'm a newbie to this forum and have a few questions. I'm interested in buying a used, low milage "Lambo" or "Ferrari Spyder" TR/355/Daytona/California replicar and have been looking at the ads on kitcars.com ( http://www.kitcar.com/lambo4sl.html ). I know Ferrari has sued builders (and some sellers) of such cars and the inventory has been drying up. However, I also read of the terrible resale value of such modified Fiero car kits (especially w/the v6's) and am concerned about spending the $20k-$30k asked by most sellers for such cars often w/20k+ miles on them. Some are even asking $40-$70k which is near the price of the "real" cars. Are these cars overpriced at those levels? Will they likely re-sell at near those levels? Would a front engine on a 'Vette frame like the Precision Cal Spyder be a better resale bet than a Fiero mod? Thanks.

Re: Used kit car prices

I'm a newbie too, but from what I gather, people will sell for what they can get. The cars almost cost that much to build from scratch (by hand) anyway, depending of course on the care and detail put into the car.

kitcarnut

If you build the replica by your self and after 2-3 years your done ,you will never ever get the money you put in to it.some cars that are well build and detail should hold its value to reasonabel price level.also some people buy finished kit spend the money but after taking ride in it, things don't look the way they had in mine,specialy when you see same kit and it is totaly better.so make sure you know the original car and then compare it to replica and drive it on freeway, any car looks way cool while driving 40mph around the block! Yeah this baby can do 150mph, Right. some can't do even over 60 due to poor frame and suspension set up.that is my opinion .

Welcome to the message board, guess you took my advice from the NG alt.autos.kitcars. and joined. Hope most of us can answer your questions.