Thread: Questions about Gel-coat ?

Questions about Gel-coat ?

OK, *I may have found why everyone hates Paul's Exotics. *Got my kit and if I haven't told everyone I m a computer tech by trade. *So I m not the best body man in the world. But I have all kinds of family and friends that do alot of things plus I pretty much restored every car I ve ever owned except my truck I have now. *Started with a 79 Fiat when I was 15, then got my 69 camaro when I was 18. *

Anyways here is the question. *I got my body kit from Paul at the end of last year. *Since I m not a body man I didnt know what to look for. *I had a friend of mine that works at a body shop over and he said its alot of work to get it ready to paint. *Its has no gel-coat, *just raw painted fiberglass. *My question is, *was everyones like mine or did Paul get the best of me? *

Re: Questions about Gel-coat ?

I think it's a "Paul's Issue" because nearly EVERYONE send out bodies of any kind... GELCOATED.

I'm very surprised that Paul's did not, but then again, I'm not because of the level of "other" work he's done... Anyway, even cheap companies Gelcoat because it hides all the crap work they did laying the Fiberglass!

Perhaps, since you went and picked up the kit personally, he didn't have the time and just spritzed it instead of coating it. Who knows. If I were you, I'd call him up, as a stranger, and ask him what the "norm" is for bodies and ask him about the kit's finish. If he mentions Gelcoat and that he always completes a kit with it, tell him who you are and that you want another body WITH Gelcoat!

If he says nothing about the Gelcoat or that he does not send his bodies with Gelcoat, you're stuck I'd think. Perhaps you can demand you money back or that he coat it for you... Good Luck!