Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can somebody give me advice on making moulds

Can somebody give me advice on making moulds

Hi everyone i have been given a ferrari kit and i was interested in making some kits from it, but i have very little knowledge in how to go about this so could anyone help advise me on what to use and the best way to go about this many thanks

Re: Can somebody give me advice on making moulds

I would try to actually assemble a car from your kit and get all the panels lined up, adjusted and blocked out ready for paint first. Then you can dissasemble it and make the molds. Most of the fiberglass kits out there are crap and not worth the cost of materials because they can't actually be put together into anything that resembles the intended car without tons of rework.
    If you did that you would set your kit apart from most of the junk out there.
    Even the longest journey begins with the first step.

FerrariFan,

You say most are crap. My question is why? I am not really interested in building a Ferrari clone but have heard and seem to understand that it takes just as much time to build a bad car as it does to build an accurate one. Are they making these just by their eye and so it is off visually? Do they have so much time in it though that to try and correct it would take too long so they say "why bother, it is close"? This all seems very strange why they couldn't make an accurate kit. I have read some about the Ferrari lawsuits and that the cars can not be made from actual body pieces that were cloned. Perhaps this is the reason.

To me a big problem is the time it takes before these kits get to market. The diablo has been gone for many years now and the kits are still crap, same with an outdated 355. I love the look of the F430 but at the rate the industry has been it will be 4-5 years after the replacement model comes out before there is a car with somewhat accurate resemblance.