Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Inexpensive/Nice Kit Car

Inexpensive/Nice Kit Car

Hi my name is DJ. I'm a sophomore in High School and I'm interested in building a kit car. In May I'll get my permit and by summer I'll have my license. I'm going to need a car to get from place to place. Alot of my friends spend alot of money on lemons. I was thinking about just waiting for a good deal to come my way, but then I read about kit cars.

Kit cars are interesting because the can be less expensive than some cars. They also model some of the best cars ever built. And to the average person, there really isn't a difference between a kit and the real thing.

I was looking at kit cars on ebay and they ranged from $5,000 - $30,000. I would personally like to build it myself. I have the help of my Dad and friends. But I also would buy a kit that was started and do the finishing stages.

I like the Lamborghini's the most. But right now I can't spend $10,000 on a kit. Are there any inexpensive Lambo kits?

I read that to build the Lamborghini you first need to start with an '88 Pontiac Fiero chassis. You have to widen it a little and then you can go onto building the Lambo body on it/engine.

I would love to have the car sound like a lamborghini. I know there are some pretty nice sounding exhausts, but I also thought about buying a VERY old lambo engine. I was going to bring it into my tech class and we could work on it. And hopefully make it run.

I've been looking at some inexpensive kits. The BMW Z3 is about $3,000. Along with the '97 Mazda its $800.

I'm interested in a good quality yet inexpensive kit that I can work on with my Dad.

Re: Inexpensive/Nice Kit Car

good luck with the "old lamborghini engine" part of your dream... but thats not gonna happen.