Thread: New to Kit Cars

New to Kit Cars

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Kit cars and I've been doing some research, but I would like to get some first hand opinions. I would like to build a 1932 Highboy or a Cobra. I have found some manufactures that make all the body and chassi parts and things like that, but I'm wondering about engine and trans. And how much would this really cost.....etc.

I'm looking for anything you guys have to say, good, bad....doesn't matter. I want and need advice.

Thanks

Re: New to Kit Cars

Weelll, first off, be careful, there are a lot of people in this business you cannot trust. Prodominately on the exotic cars side, Lambo and "F" replicas. There are some good ones as well. I have built a lot of cobras and there are some excellent vendors out there. Cobras are probably the cheapest and easiest to build. No door glass, no top, huge number of drivetrain options. I consider the '32 more on the street rod side of the business. While I do both there is a definate line in the sand, mostly drawn there by the street rod folks. No matter what you decide, be a good project manager, by starting to do your homework, know the players (body or kit manufacturers) in the market you are interested in. Understand your budget, yeh, I know everyone thinks they know their budget but do you understand it? A $30K cobra build cannot have a $25K custom engine. (Do you really need a $25K custom engine?) There are too many things to consider for such a broad question. Once you narrow your focus, I'm sure the fine people here will try to help answer some questions.

Good luck.

STAY AWAY FROM SUPEREPLICAS.COM!!!!!!! They will steal your money and burry your head in the mud!!!!