Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TESLA - Electric Sports Car

TESLA - Electric Sports Car

http://video.yahoo.com/watch/380194/2294892

$92,000 Sheesh

Black Ops Juts what you were waiting for.

Re: TESLA - Electric Sports Car

Check this one out. It is very cool!

http://video.popularmechanics.com/se...ctid1351300070
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    If you're not confused, you're not paying attention.

How about this one?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

How about a fiberglass 32 Ford Street Rod, Yellow with Tan interior of course.

Well again there will be as many opinions as people. I am not an EV expert but I have spent many hours investigating the viability of building EV's. I think it is a worthwhile opportunity but here are somethings that I have found out that no one promoting EV's really want to discuss. The only viable battery technology as of today is still lead acid. Large, heavy and limited range. Now I know you all are going to jump on Li-ion and LiFEpo technology BUT $12,000 for batteries that will likely last less than three years that require a sophisticated management system that is specific to the battery manufacturer is not a realistic option and that is why there has been no explosion of EV's on the market. I don't remember the specifics but I calulated the ROI (return on investment) at $4.00/gal versus a 20/mpg SUV to still be over 8 years. If you have to replace the battery pack of Li batteries there will never be a return. I am as ready as anyone to wean off oil but the technology is not there yet for EV. Well technology versus cost is not. I will like to see how these new breed of EV's are performing 5 years from now. I hope I'm wrong. The other reason there is no great market for EV's is there is not enough infrustructure in the power system to replace gas burning vehicles with electric. It is not free and abundent. Do you remember the rolling blackouts is California becuase the stupid politicians did not have to balls to pu