Thread: Importing a kit

Importing a kit

Hello everyone,

Newbie here, please be gentle. ;D

Does anyone know what the import duty or taxes are if I were to import a kit from Britain?
    I know shipping and crating will not be cheap, but just wondered what the other costs might be.

Thanks,

Alan

Ethros

Re: Importing a kit

Hi Alan

i'm based in the UK you need to see if the company will sell it to you without VAT s its leaving the UK this should get the price down by 17.5%

If they mark it as a gift then you should be ok with tax yourside.

If you need any help i'm based in the UK

Thanks for the quick reply....

I'd heard about the VAT thing..that's quite a saving.
    Supposing I didn't do the gift thing though....do you have any idea what the taxes etc would be at this end?

Thanks,

Alan

Ethros

You would have to find out what your country import tax is. But I would suggest getting it sent as a gift, they wont have a problem in doing this for you. What kit are you thinking of buying?

Quote Originally Posted by Speedyrocko
    Thanks for the quick reply....

I'd heard about the VAT thing..that's quite a saving.
    Supposing I didn't do the gift thing though....do you have any idea what the taxes etc would be at this end?

Thanks,

Alan

If your thinking of importing from the UK to the US I can give you some guidance (free).

I'm not sure how many UK companies are VAT registered. Some small ones aren't while larger ones like Chesil, Caterham and Atom are. Only if they are VAT registered can you ask them to ship to you minus the VAT.