Thread: Why kits?

Why kits?

I am a designer that has just recently graduated Art Center College of Design and while I am in talks with OEMs, I am also doing free lance work since I have some time.

An avid racer and sports car enthusiast, I was toying with the idea of contacting kit car manufacturers and doing ORIGINAL cars on tubular spaceframe chassis.

Just curious but would this be appealing to anyone? Instead of "faking the funk" with a Fiero and a beautiful exterior that is already in production, would any of you consider a beautiful original design?

*Since performance SHOULD be the selling point, I would only be interested in spaceframe or monocoque chassis. I would not want to use a donor car. The type of designs could range from an exotic to a small Lotus-type of vehicle (dear to me).

Please, offer up ANY suggestions or comments you guys might have. I have designs that are in both 3d physical models that are scan-ready and 3d Alias .wire files that are mill-ready. As well as, of course 2d work that I have not built models for...

I guess I have seen some people "selling" rights to a design on here. How common is this, and what sort of interest is there for that? I have been thinking more like doing contract work for the manufacturers.

Feedback/Interest?

Re: Why kits?

Beware of who you show what around here or your liable to loose your designs and see them down your street!!!! Always good to know there are new designers in the block, and I believe your craft is well sought after. Be careful with spec work and go light with prices and I'm sure you will stir up interest and extra work. Now, if you charge a million bucks just to show a design, you came to the wrong forum. Copyright your portfolio and send it to DAVE AKAFUNNYWHEELS). Im sure he will be glad to post your work. Welcome!

Thanks for the post. Who is "Dave"? As in... does he hold some sort of position of importance here?