Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying a kitcar from Canada

Buying a kitcar from Canada

Hi everyone!

I am new to the replicar world but am very keen. I was wondering what issues arise if someone living in the States buys a completed car from Canada; are there import duties or regulations that affect bringing a car in? Can an individual handle it or does on need to go thru a dealer?
    I was very happy ro run across this site, I am very interested in 308/328/355 kits and hope you don't mind a few questions.

Ta!!

Re: Buying a kitcar from Canada

Hello: And welcome to the forum, I brought my kit to Canada from the US. First I hired a company to ship it, You can use a broker to handle all the cross border stuff for you. I decided to do all the broker stuff myself, When the kit arrived It went to a bonded warehouse in my City. I met them there and the kit was held until I Paid the taxes and fees on the total cost of the kit. I had to have documentation of all the payments/ Recepts, When I finished all that they released the truck with my kit. They looked at me like I had three heads when they seen the paperwork of what I had purchased ;D

It is easier to use a broker but I wanted to save the fees of hiring a broker. All this took me about 4 hours of my time, This system could work diferently in the US but it is somewhere to start.

Hope this helps
    Trevor,

Thanx for the quick reply, Ari!

Thanx Trevor! your reply came in while I was typing the previous thanx!

David

Hi everyone!

I am new to the replicar world but am very keen. I was wondering what issues arise if someone living in the States buys a completed car from Canada; are there import duties or regulations that affect bringing a car in? Can an individual handle it or does on need to go thru a dealer?
    I was very happy ro run across this site, I am very interested in 308/328/355 kits and hope you don't mind a few questions.

Ta!!