Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Use turbo 4 banger engine and tranny in Countach

  1. #1

    Use turbo 4 banger engine and tranny in Countach

    Has anyone tried a front wheel drive drivetrain in a replica mid engine car? I have a Countach with the long. mounted Chevy 350/Porsche 4 speed and I hate how close to the firewall the engine sits. I was thinking of a SRT4 drivetrain or EVO/STI drivetrain as a replacement. I have zero knowledge of this kind of configuration, but it seems like a frontwheel drive engine/tranny would work the same in the rear of the car as it does in the front of the car! Any thought?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Jets303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    686

    Re: Use turbo 4 banger engine and tranny in Countach

    When JVD customs was around, John used a 4g63t motor out of a dsm and made some good power out of it. He fitted it in a Murci replica. Not much for sound but I think he said he pulled like 350 hp on it. Its pretty easy to get that kind of power out of a Dsm engine.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Joe 1320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    189

    Re: Use turbo 4 banger engine and tranny in Countach

    That is essentially the same type of configuration that is in a Fiero and fiero based replicas. The powertrain configuration is essentially a transverse front wheel drive setup with fixed tierod setup installed in the rear. However..... they still fairly close to the rear wall.

    The V6s



    My 4 cyl:



    In fact, my Countach uses a transverse v6. It's not built for speed, it's a great cruiser that's peppy and makes some decent noise. Gas mileage is pretty decent too.





    if you still want really good power, consider a supercharged 3800 and automatic from a Pontiac GTP. 300 HP is easy.

  4. #4
    Senior Member VF1Skullangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    1,622

    Re: Use turbo 4 banger engine and tranny in Countach

    It would be pretty simple to actually do the swap all you would need is some adaptors and an engine. Jets303 is very right about the DSM engine producing good numbers however they have reliablity issues.

    The SRT-4 is a very good one Id think its possible to put one back there if people can stick a V8 in there why not a 4 banger.

    Also keep the option of using a V6 as well. the 3800 and 3.4's are practically bolt on kits if your a Fiero under neith, they can do dropped in with little to no work.

  5. #5

    Re: Use turbo 4 banger engine and tranny in Countach

    mine is a tube chassis. I am just kicking around ideas and it would be nice to have a paddle shift system as well due to the lack of space in the countach! I'm just trying to be creative with my tinker toy.

Similar Threads

  1. 1998 Bmw v12 shell with engine tranny
    By stas in forum The Mall
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 12:16 AM
  2. WTB Engine and Tranny
    By Dustinelwood in forum The Mall
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 03:45 PM
  3. Subaru engine and AWD tranny converted to RWD
    By KeepItLight in forum Technical Discussion & Question
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 11:10 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2006, 05:37 PM
  5. Will a Porshe 914 Tranny Work with 97&UP Ls1 Engine?
    By CaLamboRoadster in forum Technical Discussion & Question
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-15-2004, 05:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •