Thread: Just starting out!

Just starting out!

I have been a member for about 4-5 months now and till now I have only read the discussions. I have seen the great work that Murcie Me and countless others have done. I am just starting out my build and plan to document it the best I can like most of you have done. I am no way a mechanical genius or guru. I will probably ask questions to most of you may seem novice but I have the determination to learn. What I can't do I will get help to do. I plan to ask a lot of questions and get the expertise I need from those of you who have already done this. I am one who will NOT give up no matter the cost or time. I will probably make some costly mistakes hopefully not to many. So with that being said. I just bought my Donor car 85 fiero with 3800 series ll supercharged with Getrag tranny. I dropped the motor to get everything in pristine condition and add some new parts. While doing so what I thought was a good frame turned out to have some rust holes in the motor area. So two questions one how do I tell what year the tyranny is from and second should I get a better donor frame or should I not worry about the rust and replace it with new metal.

Sincerely Burner

Re: Just starting out!

Quote Originally Posted by Burner
    I just bought my Donor car 85 fiero with 3800 series ll supercharged with Getrag tranny.
    with this one, u might want to get along with Murcenary who have the same hearted machine u just bought.
    He is going to start his built real soon...

wish u luck and dont forget to post the progress picts like what MM did.
    Must be intresting.

Wish u all the best with luck.

regards.

Thanx sc80! I will post the pics. I hope that MM and Murcenary will share some of their wisdom when I get stuck!

Burner,

How much rust is there? Any Pic's?

You may want to have JVD take car of this for you. That is his expertise.

MURCenary

Burner,