Thread: Advice on Tube Chassis or Fiero

Advice on Tube Chassis or Fiero

Im really at a crossroads of what to do for a build. I know the fiero would be the easiest way and I already have a Fiero lined up for the build. But Im really starting to wonder if I'd be making a mistake by not going with the tube chassis. I'm sure it helps value of the car, performance and Insurable value.

BUT....I am concerned about using a Tube chassis because of Registration issues in California. I would plan to use a Chassis and a donor Corvette so I could get the computer and all that with it. But Since I've never done this before I would not want to spend all this time and money building a chassis only to find out I cant register it.
    I read up on the Specially Built Vehicles on the DMV site but they make it sound like a special smog inspection and CHP inspection are all thats needed. I have to imagine its more of an issue than this.
    Can anyone comment who has gone thru the process?

Senior Member ITALIANKNIGHTRIDER's Avatar

Re: Advice on Tube Chassis or Fiero

Quote Originally Posted by vonjet
    Im really at a crossroads of what to do for a build. I know the fiero would be the easiest way and I already have a Fiero lined up for the build. But Im really starting to wonder if I'd be making a mistake by not going with the tube chassis. I'm sure it helps value of the car, performance and Insurable value.

BUT....I am concerned about using a Tube chassis because of Registration issues in California. I would plan to use a Chassis and a donor Corvette so I could get the computer and all that with it. But Since I've never done this before I would not want to spend all this time and money building a chassis only to find out I cant register it.
    I read up on the Specially Built Vehicles on the DMV site but they make it sound like a special smog inspection and CHP inspection are all thats needed. I have to imagine its more of an issue than this.