Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: chromemoly or aluminum chassis

chromemoly or aluminum chassis

as some of you know i am a chassis builder, and now that i am almost done with all the upgrades to the chassis works desgin, i am thinking and wondering if an aluminum alloy or a chromemoly chassis would have a market. i will be posting a series of new pics of my chassis soon, i have been doing the last of my upgrades to a countach chassis but the simularites will be the same for any wheel base. any and all feed back would be appreciated,

Re: chromemoly or aluminum chassis

Not sure how many people are capable of welding aluminum if they would need to add brackets/hangers or whatever so I would go with steel. Chromemoly is bit harder to weld then mild steel but it has its adventages over mild steel.
    For me I would go with steel mainly cause I hate welding aluminum

thanks chimaera, and understand what you are saying about welding, been really considering a mix between chrome moly and steel, and having some of my friends make me some carbon fiber panels, instead of steel panels. i am looking to get the weight of my chassis down to around 400lbs complete minus steering and front suspension.

sent you a pm

if you know roughly length of tubes/material you will need for the frame you can always put it on scale and you will know more or less how much it will weight.
    cow droppings, I would love my self to have 1hp to 1lb weight ratio and having same problem with my chassis. Goal is to have it under 1800lb when its finished but I do not know if that will happen.
    You can always use thinner wall tubes and triangulate it for strength, its all a matter how much risk you like to take.

Quote Originally Posted by chimaera
    I would love my self to have 1hp to 1lb weight ratio and having same problem with my chassis. Goal is to have it under 1800lb when its finished but I do not know if that will happen.