Thread: 1st post hellos

1st post hellos

this is my first post and i want to officially say hi along with asking a few questions...
    I now have the time and capitol to embark on the kit car project that i have wanted to do since i was kid. I am not a master mechanic or fabricator by any means, but probably, like a lot on this board, i think i have the tenacity and proficiency to accomplish pretty much anything. With that being said, I really have no idea where to even start on this kind of thing short of buying a kit and a donor. There does not seem to be a lot of resources on the web for this, and if someone could point me towards some good threads to serve as a jumping off point that would be great. I also wouldnt mind maybe some suggestions on websites and companies that others have used as resources.

My project that i want to start is a replica porsche carrera GT. I am hoping to maybe be able to build it off of a old boxster frame but I am not sure how feasable that is. I guess the main thing i am looking for is guidance so I can really sit down and draw up some plans, timelines, parts lists, budget, and a general plan of attack. I hate starting anything without having some sort of plan in mind.

Thanks very much I am very excited to get this off the ground.

Re: 1st post hellos

First off - Welcome to the Forum.

You will find that their are many builders out there that will be willing to get you the info you are seeking. I have seen some Porsche conversions on here from time to time. One of our members jdorr2002 had completed a Porsche conversion some time ago. He may be able to give you some tips. I'm sure their are other Porsche forums out there as well doing conversions from older models. Unfortunately, I'm not very knowledgeable on Porsche's. Good luck with your project.