Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinion Re Toyota MR2??

Opinion Re Toyota MR2??

I'm a newbie, so I am be interested in opinions from builders of what they think about using an MR2 turbo as a donor car - what are the pros and cons of its chassie, susension, braking systems, handling, reliability, etc compared to a Fiero or other common inexpensive donor?
    Thanks. I appreciate your advice.

Re: Opinion Re Toyota MR2??

Quote Originally Posted by busguy
    I'm a newbie, so I am be interested in opinions from builders of what they think about using an MR2 turbo as a donor car - what are the pros and cons of its chassie, susension, braking systems, handling, reliability, etc compared to a Fiero or other common inexpensive donor?
    Thanks. I appreciate your advice.
    Im using MR2 on my Enzo and also own Fiero based kits, and to be honest they are both the same. My toyota decided to randomly over heat after being drivin for abotu 2 hrs, and my Fiero runs great but is underpowered and has no power steering

I've never owned a Fiero but have owned 5 MR2s so far. 4mk 2s and an MRS as my current project car.
    As with all cars of this age there are good and bad examples out there. I love them!
    That said my v6 swap has turned out to be a bit of a mare for the new owner (think he was testing the uprated clutch and has lunched the tranny) and I stupidly over tuned one of my turbos that used to eat head gaskets for a pastime; my fault - Toyota reliability is normally pretty good. I had an N/A that I put HUGE miles on and another Sunday driver turbo that I wish I still had.
    They are generally newer than a fiero so you would guess it handles better (assuming you can find a good one) but I bet tuning stuff is cheaper for the fiero. My choice would be MR2 but that's because it's what I know and is that bit of a later generation car. Watch out for the cost of coil over shocks though. They can be pretty darn steep!