Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    181

    VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    Im trying to program my speedometer- I have a VDO programable speedometer with a sbc and a Fiero 5 speed, whats the pulse per mile output?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    251

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    4000. but also it will not work exact because of different tires size. you'll have to play with it.

  3. #3

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    I am using the left front ABS sensor for the dash speedo set to 64730 pulses per mile to match my face plate.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    181

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    Thanks! My research came up with the 4000 pulse rate, but I wanted to make sure. I will start with the 4000 setting and go from there.

    Another question- If my speedo is reading too fast do I enter a lower number?
    Thanks again!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    251

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    well like I said ,play with it. the speedo that is LOL, but you can use also your GPS or GPS on your smart phone to see if your speed is acurate when you drive it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ferrobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    553

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    Does your VDO have the drive 1 mile calibration ability that sets it for you

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    181

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    Quote Originally Posted by ferrobi
    Does your VDO have the drive 1 mile calibration ability that sets it for you
    Yes, but I figured it would be easier to try the pulse input first. The driven mile will be my last option.

  8. #8
    Senior Member ferrobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    553

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    I played around with the pulse thing for a while and someone suggested I do the 1 mile thing - way easier and I think more accurate as to tires size and what not -

  9. #9

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    Quote Originally Posted by ferrobi
    I played around with the pulse thing for a while and someone suggested I do the 1 mile thing - way easier and I think more accurate as to tires size and what not -
    If you change the gauge face the 1 mile run won't work.
    There is also a 'driving' feature if you can match a GPS speed and then adjust your needle up and down.
    I did the pulse method by guessing


  10. #10
    Senior Member hnthomps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    171

    Re: VDO Speedometer pulse setting?

    I am using VDO instrumentation on a 1988 Mera and the 4000 ppm is correct. I initially set up my speedometer with the one mile run (using a GPS) and it was accurate to within 2 MPH. You can then use the plus/minus feature of the VDO speedometer for a more accurate trim and exact speed measurement.

    Nelson
    Nelson

Similar Threads

  1. Classic Instruments speedo setting help
    By dj_golden in forum Technical Discussion & Question
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-10-2006, 09:41 AM
  2. GEORGE FEJER SETTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT
    By ROBERTFEJER in forum Consumer Opinions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2004, 06:48 PM
  3. Speedometer and Tach.
    By fly355 in forum Technical Discussion & Question
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-18-2004, 08:54 PM
  4. Goal Setting
    By FunnyWheels in forum The Mall
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2003, 12:18 AM
  5. 355 OEM Speedometer
    By 355lover in forum Technical Discussion & Question
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-20-2003, 10:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •