Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proper order of fishing things?

Proper order of fishing things?

So I've seen many people do things in different orders, and of corse i have what i think makes sense. BUT, I'm new to this, and I'm betting there are some good reasons people do things in certain orders. So essentially I'm hoping to get told i'm wrong or right here and why.

What i'm thinking

1) engine/suspension/brakes (get it running so you can drive it to places to get stuff like ac lines and interrior work plus, you cant scratch/gouge paint if its not done)
    2) electrical/lighting (set it up, mount the lights, and take em out for pant)
    3) body work and body mechanical
    4) paint
    5) interior (no dust on the leather!

i've seen a lot of people do body work first which confuses me, but maybe you dont want to get grease on a non-finished piece of fiberglass or soemthing.

Re: Proper order of fishing things?

your list is a good order,thats how i have done a few.the only thing, if you have a lot of body work,bondo and fiber glass.do it first and get the body in primer.this way everything has more time to shrink and cure before paint(if it is going too)while working on the rest.your car body looks good,unless your making big changes your order will do fine.

john

I concur, although I must admit I don't follow the list well.
    I have a list ordered almost exactly the same however, I let my mood confuse the order. After a few days of working on the proper thing, I have a tendency to get a little burned out so, instead of totally taking a break, I work on something I can do indoors and more fun. That way at least progress is being made on the car while I'm "taking a break". That's why I'm all gung ho about my interior project right now, even though I don't even have the body mounted yet. I am still waiting on a few pieces that Bartman has agreed to make for me, and then I will start the body mounting phase with wild abandon.