Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lengthened lower arm (how to)

Lengthened lower arm (how to)

Hey guys, I need a little advice and maybe some more experienced help here.

I am building a Murcie roadster and using an MR2 as my doner. In the rear I am requiring lengthened lower arms to accomodate the wider track of my build. I need to add 4" to this lower arm. As I am a first time builder and new to all this.....I am not sure exactly what to do here to solve my problem. But this is what I think.......

Question is: Can this arm be cut and welded longer, it looks cast. Or should I get it fabricated?

If Fabricating a new arm is the best way to go...... well then I dont know anyone here that I could get to do it for me. If anyone can do this for me, can you please PM me. I would send the original OEM MR2 arm to you, of course.

As for the upper strut extension adapter, I was looking into what Extreme does for their Murcy builds and that seems easy enough to do. But I dont know enough to fab a lower arm from scratch. I would not feel safe if I did this myself. Maybe seems silly to those with experience but I just dont have it and I definitely dont have the experience to trust my work just yet to that kind of fabrication.

Here's a pic of the OEM lower arm and where I need it extended the 4 inches.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Mitch.

Keep dreaming if you want to, I'm building mine!

Re: Lengthened lower arm needed

Why extend the rear lower arm, I thought everyone used spacers on the rear to make up the wide track???
    It's the front lower arm you need to worry about, but I am still waiting on someone to speak up on what's involved as tie rod ends and some sort of adaptor would need to be made between the strut and hub housing????? :/

I have no problem with the front. The rim offset allowed for a 2" spacer to fit up and the turning radius still works with the wheel well. I can live with that.