Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Software and book recommendations

Software and book recommendations

Hi!

I'm pretty new to kit and customs cars and there is so much I have to learn, as I don't even have an engineering background. I was hoping some veterans would be so kind to give some advice on how to get started.

Let's say you want to design your own tube frame car with a custom body. Some questions come to mind:
    1) What books would you recommend in terms of chassis design?
    2) What program would you think would be more suitable for its design and force simulation?
    3) What program would you recommend for the body design?

For example, I heard SolidWorks is very good for (2), but I think its license is 4000+$. Is there any program which can do similar things but or a much more affordable price tag?
    In a similar way, I heard it is not that good for surface modeling (which I think is the technique used to design bodies), so what would be a good program for (3) which is at the same time somewhat affordable and will let you make molds easily?

Thanks a lot!

If you go to a car factory you'll see that it takes any army to build cars.
    If you want to design your own car are you going to learn how to model it from scratch? because that alone could be 6 month+ just to learn the 3D techniques.

You can start by planning on what kind of dedication and money you have.
    Rather then waste many years trying to make a car that might crash one day, here is what I recommend.

1 Start with the Toyota MR2 mid engine car as a donor

2 Find its 3D model and play with it in Sketchup (free)
    3 Design your car on paper
    4 Find car designs that share the same panels as your car design (Being the year 2012, almost ever car design feature could be found on some car)
    5 Now you have to mimic your car design by importing 3d models of other car designs... dissect their panels and fuse them into one using Sketchup and place it over the MR2 model