Thread: fiero engine replacement, best route to to go?

fiero engine replacement, best route to to go?

ok, so i got my fiero today, for the nice price of 300$. The only problem is, the motor is seized, and sat up for a while. Its total junk.

Im going to pull it tomorrow, and go ahead and start my stretch.

My question is, whats the best route to go? Its a stock 4cyl, and this is my first kit car. I really don't want to get bogged down and disheartened dealing with motor swap issues. Ide rather just put another running 4cyl in it for now. What other GM vehicles use the same motor, so when i start calling around looking for motors, i know what to ask for?

I don't mind putting another motor in, as long as it will bolt in with very few mods. Will the v6 fit? does it bolt in? what about the ECU?

Just a little about me. Im a metal fabricator/welder by trade, and a mini trucker. Ive built numerous bagged and body dropped trucks before, so i know the ropes about building cars, but motors have never been a strong point for me.

The fiero is an 87, 4cyl, 5 speed.

Try www.car-part.com to find an engine in a local junkyard. Being a 4 cylinder, there's no engine swap that doesn't require wiring and ECM changes. The v6 would bolt up, but the wiring is totally different. I'd say you have 3 options:

1. replace the 4 cylinder - I don't think you'll be too satisfied with this in the long run.

2. 3800 supercharged v6 - it will bolt right to your transmission, but you'll need new motor mounts, modified wiring harness and ecu. This is the route I'd reccommend - several people can do the harness for $400, and if you search for it, you can find people who make motor mounts.

3. Small block chevy V8 - you'd need a swap kit, and you could go carbeurated to avoid wiring. The V8s get a lot of criticism, but with a kit, the swap's pretty easy. Actaully, I have a spare kit I'll probably never get around to using. Let me know if yr interested.