Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Starting up my Fiero --  first time in years :-(

  1. #1

    Starting up my Fiero --  first time in years :-(

    Well I have finally gotten around to starting up my fiero as it gets closer to kit car completion..

    But alas it wont start. It cranks but wont start.

    Battery is new.

    I *may* not have enough gas in the tank :

    One question though..in the books they show two cables
    going to the throttle body. I only have one .. the acceleration
    cable --flips around the "cam" on the throttle body.

    Did I lose a cable somewhere?????

    Is there a way to prime the engine or is just the fuel pump
    running good enough (yes I can hear it running for the 2 secs
    as per the books).

    Any way to check if there is fuel getting to the engine?

    Perhaps removing that little thumb screw will spill some out??

    BTW.. yes I did add new oil and rad fluid 8)

    oh ya .. no codes other than the obligatory 12 start/stop code
    Visit My KitCarOnLine Blog<br />http://www.kitcaronline.ca and Links Site at http://www.kitcars.ca

  2. #2

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    Could the extra cable be for cruise control-- which I dont
    have ???
    Visit My KitCarOnLine Blog<br />http://www.kitcaronline.ca and Links Site at http://www.kitcars.ca

  3. #3
    Senior Member RCR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Shelby Twp Mi
    Posts
    1,346

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    Not a Fiero expert (yet), but I do know Firebirds... The throttle body would have the accelerator (obviously), the cruise control, (which you don't have), and the transmission kick-down cable (if it's an automatic).

    The little thumbscrew is just a cap for the fuel line pressure nipple (or something like that) if I'm thinking of the same thing you are. If your sure you have spark, squirt a little fuel down the thottle body using a squirt bottle. Usually works for me.

    good luck...
    Bob custom '84 Fiero SE --->>> custom F408
    http://www.madmechanics.com/forum/cu...ilepic37_1.gif

  4. #4

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    Just a little cough a couple times but not wanting to crank over.. What are some novice tips to check for

    a) fuel pressure -- can I get a loaner guage from Canadian Tire and hook it up?

    b) check for spark?
    Visit My KitCarOnLine Blog<br />http://www.kitcaronline.ca and Links Site at http://www.kitcars.ca

  5. #5

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    derwin, it sounds like a problem I had with mine... I changed everything, from the coil to the roder button, but she still would not start. I was talking to my brother one day and I ask him and he said he had a ford that wouldn't start and he said his problem was dead plugs. So I said I would give it a try and I did. I replaced all six plugs and the first click of the key, she started right up. When I was checking for spark, I only checked #1 and it had spark, but the rest of the plugs were dead. With a try.... Felix

  6. #6

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    I was thinking the same thing so I went and bought new
    plugs yesterday. Unfortunately while removing the wires
    one pulled right apart .. alas another trip to the store
    to purchase new wires.

    The rotor and cap look good the plugs were pretty black...

    How do you check for spark? (safely)
    Visit My KitCarOnLine Blog<br />http://www.kitcaronline.ca and Links Site at http://www.kitcars.ca

  7. #7
    Senior Member RCR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Shelby Twp Mi
    Posts
    1,346

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    The easiest way to check for spark is to pull one wire at the spark plug and connect an extra sparkplug to it. Ground the base and have someone crank the car. You should see a definite spark jump the gap. If it coughs a bit, you probably have spark. Try squirting a bit of fuel down the TB and see if it sputters some more.

    Have you messed with the timing at all? Accidently turned the distributor cap? If that's a possibility, reset the timing. I belive there's a post in here somewhere on doing it.
    Bob custom '84 Fiero SE --->>> custom F408
    http://www.madmechanics.com/forum/cu...ilepic37_1.gif

  8. #8

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    Hey as far as the 2 cables going to the throttlebody, If its a Automatic you will have a TCI switch runing from the top of the tranny to the throttle body. Or at least I think its called a TCI. BUt I do know it runs from the throttlebody to the top of the tranny.

    Bo

  9. #9

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    ***HELP ***
    _________________________________________________
    Any mechanics or those in the know near Waterloo that could lend me a hand?? *$$$ do the helper

    I changed the plugs and the wires and still the same. I can
    hear the pump.. it turns but wont "catch". I have sprayed
    some fuel in the tbi and it gives a bit more but alas it
    still does not start.

    I think I'll have to tear down the fuel lines to see if its getting thru..
    Visit My KitCarOnLine Blog<br />http://www.kitcaronline.ca and Links Site at http://www.kitcars.ca

  10. #10
    Senior Member RCR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Shelby Twp Mi
    Posts
    1,346

    Re: Starting up my Fiero -- *first time in years :

    Honestly, it sounds like your timing is off a bit. It may be unorthodox, but it works for me. Get someone to crank it over while you check the timing with a timing light. See if it's close to what it's supposed to be (6* to 8* advance?).
    Bob custom '84 Fiero SE --->>> custom F408
    http://www.madmechanics.com/forum/cu...ilepic37_1.gif

Similar Threads

  1. Who wants it?  Mirage 355... Best offer!
    By DKOV in forum The Mall
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2003, 10:38 AM
  2. R25  UN1
    By Thedoc in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2002, 02:28 AM
  3. Roof is cut.  
    By AmbeBock in forum General Kitcar Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2002, 03:27 PM
  4. got emblems in  today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    By f355_rydah in forum General Kitcar Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-03-2002, 04:47 PM
  5. 355 muffler on ebay...  :)
    By DKOV in forum General Kitcar Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2002, 12:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •