Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Moulding a 360 pls. advise me

Moulding a 360 pls. advise me

Hi Guys,

As some might allready know I will start my 430 build soon on the Peugeot 406 Coupe.

The kit has lexan side windows and the original peugeot 406 windshield is used. I want to use original glass all around in my build, which means I have to perfectly replicate the roofline, pilars and rear quarters.

I am in the very lucky position that a good friend of mine owns a real 360 and is willing to help me out! He allows me to pull moulds from his car under the condition THAT I DO NOT DAMAGE HIS CAR.... You guys can prolly imagine that I am the happiest man ever and very thankful that he gives me this opportunity.

I have no experience in making moulds yet so that is why ALL advice is more then welcome! Firstly I want to share the steps that I think I should take to get this job done. Please check if I dont forget anything or should do things differently.

1. Cover the car with a protective layer so the chemicals do not directly get in touch with the car's lacquer.
    - I am thinking about sticking sheets of alunium foil to the area that I want to replicate with PVA like in this video: Foil Layup for a mold release - YouTube
    What do you all think of this ?? are there any alernatives that are safer as aluminium foil isn't that strong?.

2. Devide sections with clay/carton board.
    - where do you guys advise me to make these sections? (feel free to draw them in the below picture)
    What are the best materials to use?

3. Apply gelcoat and let it dry for about 4 hours until it feels a bit sticky.
    Which gelcoat is recommended?

4. Apply first layer of fibreglass + Resin.
    - For the first layer I think I should use thin sheets so that the contours will be followed nicely.
    - Roll the air bubles out with a roller.
    What weight of fibreglass is recommended?
    Which resin is recommended?

5. Apply heavyer sheets of fibreglass + resin.