Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BMW v12 engine management system? any ideas

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    19

    BMW v12 engine management system? any ideas

    i am building a lambo g24. my plan is to put a bmw v12 from a 1991 750il and a Porsche boxster 5 speed trans. i hadn't put any thought into a ems at all. if you have any ideas please pm me or reply here. thanks

  2. #2
    You can reuse the stock system using the fly-by-wire throttles and solder together a speedometer bypass board OR install a Haltech system and run mechanical throttles.
    I have done both and can offer advice.
    Stock System - (Word Document) http://stweb.peelschools.org/sssweb/...0750%20V12.doc
    Haltech - Haltech Setup Step-by-Step | Kwiker Cars

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    19
    Thanks this helped alot

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    203
    This may also help, http://www.v12diablo.co.uk/resources...%20ECU%27s.pdf
    regards
    Lambolex

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by jdinner View Post
    You can reuse the stock system using the fly-by-wire throttles and solder together a speedometer bypass board OR install a Haltech system and run mechanical throttles.
    I have done both and can offer advice.
    Stock System - (Word Document) http://stweb.peelschools.org/sssweb/...0750%20V12.doc
    Haltech - Haltech Setup Step-by-Step | Kwiker Cars
    hi Jim, can you briefly explain why you need to make a speedometer bypass board, and if so do you know of a source for a circuit for that, I am still trying to get my doner 750 to run right, drinking fuel like 20 lts in 1/2 hr just idling, suspect it has something to do with leak in sump allowing air through the system, unfortunately doner is outside and it wont stop raining, so unable to work on the sump problem yet.
    regards
    Graeme

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Lambolex View Post
    hi Jim, can you briefly explain why you need to make a speedometer bypass board, and if so do you know of a source for a circuit for that, I am still trying to get my doner 750 to run right, drinking fuel like 20 lts in 1/2 hr just idling, suspect it has something to do with leak in sump allowing air through the system, unfortunately doner is outside and it wont stop raining, so unable to work on the sump problem yet.
    regards
    Graeme
    It depends on the year of your engine. The early 1988 need a wire to be grounded for the speedometer. My 1991 needed a wire that had an 8 volt square wave pulse for the computer to see.
    If the engine is under load, throttles partly open and no speed is detected the throttles will not open all the way. It thinks it is stationary.
    Once speed is detected the throttles with now open all the way.
    I made a bunch of these boards.
    Here is a schematic
    https://docs.google.com/drawings/d/1...it?usp=sharing

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    203
    Thanks Jim for the drawing, my car is an 1988 so may only need to ground something as you say, did you hide the original dash cluster up under your dash or throw it in the dumpster. I have had mine apart replacing capacitors etc to try to get it to go, in the end sourced another from a E34 535 jeees there is a lot inside there. Turns out its the same unit that was in the E32 Figured it might be nice to retain the fuel computer, that takes its data from the cluster, that way you can see where the dollars are going at @$9.87 per gallon for standard, super is another 45c pg that's enough to make your eyes water.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •