Thread: question for DKOV

question for DKOV

I remember you having a 3.4 in your fiero/kitcar/whatever but I am curious as to what trany you ended up using. My 3.4 was mated to the original fiero getreg, but lately have been looking for ways to lower the final gear ratio, since I feel its slightly too high. Any thoughts on the matter?

Re: question for DKOV

First a question...

By your screen name I assume the 3.4 you are referring to is a DOHC and not a push rod motor?

If it is a 1991 - 1996 3.4L Twin Dual Cam or Dual Overhead Cam motor then I can answer you but I have no experience with the 3.4L Pushrod motor.

With my 3.4L TDC, I used the Getrag 284 tranny that was released on the first few limited Grand Prix GTPs. Not the stock 282 Getrag that came in the Fiero.

Even so, 1st gear is very short as the motor blows through it super fast. It's almost as fast starting off the line in 2nd

Of course, with having such a quick 1st gear, the venerable burnout is a simple deal

The Fiero 4 speeds actually offer a better gear ratio for the ultra high revving 3.4L DOHC or TDC motor but lacks "flair".

As for the stock Getrag 282 (Fiero) versus the Getrag 284 (Grand Prix) the gearing is just a BIT taller but not much. Enough to feel but not really enough to say that it's a TON better.

Where you notice it is in 3rd - 5th gear. 1st and 2nd feel very close to the same. However, because of the massive HP increase on my motor, 1st and 2nd seem short because of the tiem it takes to reve the rpms up to shift point... FAST.

I hope this helps and doesn't just add more confusion. The short end of the point is that I am VERY happy witht he 284 and like it better than the 282. Just my opinion.

Best,

DKOV -