Thread: Engine Selection for a new build

Question Engine Selection for a new build

Hi,

I am very new in this, never done that before or have any experience with it from mechanical perspective. However, I feel I can build a track car from scratch with my metal working skills but I need a lot of help in the mechanical department.

I am still in the research phase and I was thinking about building v6 turbo charged mid-rear engine car mounted transversely with a transaxle transmission. However, I can seem to find engines/transmission that fits my category. Is there a "plug and play" engines/transmission for this setup or I will have to get an engine then a transmission and converter to fit them together.

Thanks again and excuse my newbie questions

You have several options for your transverse engine/Trans setup.

• GM
      • 3.8 Buick with Auto trans or manual trans
      • F40 GM 6 speed transmission (I think...)
      • 3900 V6 GM fits up against the newer F23 GM 5 spd transmissions
      • Lots of transverse V6's with various transmissions in a lot of GM cars
      • Go to Pennock's Fiero Forum and find all kinds of V6 and V8 swaps using transverse transmissions

• Ford
      • Several V6 combinations in the Ford arena as well that I can think of
      • I don't know the details on those though as I have concentrate more in the GM world with Fieros

Do a Google search for Transverse V6 and you get LOTs of reading available to you. Almost too much....

Good luck with your investigation

Cheers
    Don
    308 Ferrari replica
    Prova Countach 5000QV

I think I read the Northstar has the same GM metric belhousing that will bolt to the GM F40 6 speed in the late G6

The MTX75 from a 2000 Cougar with the 2.5 V6 will bolt to the Duratec 3.0 and 3.5 V6. I'm adding a turbo to a 99 tauras 3.0L duratec (the 4 cam 24valve, not the vulcan pushrod angine) in a Kemlark (Fauxrarri Dino)

Also, the early 2000's Passat has a logutudinal V6 and is availible in a stick