Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: body buck molds

body buck molds

Hi guys,

lets get the formality out of the way!

Ive been looking through this site for a while now reading the builds and have finally joined.

I've been wanting to build a kit car since I first learned how to drive, now 10 years on I still want to do a build of my own. I'm wanting my project to be carried out over around 2 years and want to carry out every step for myself including building a buck, molding, panels, space frame chassis etc... infact the only thing that I don't want to do is the 3d cad and printing for the buck skeleton and paint the car.

I'm not 100% on what I want (either Aventador, Huracan, Koenigsegg or P1) just yet, I'm still in the planning and research phase.

So the good points are I'm a mechanical engineering student, Mechanically minded, patient and willing to learn. bad points are I've never done something like this before... but I guess we can alll relate to that at one point in our lives.

anyway onto my question.

once the body buck is made and moulded, what process is used to separate individual panels. obviously the buck is in one piece thus making a part from a mould would result in a entire piece. do you guys take a mould of the specific panel from the buck or do you cut the panel once the entire body has been made. Sorry if you cant understand the question but Im having difficulty in explaining it as I'm not 100% familiar with the technical terms. Hopefully someone will understand what I mean.

And yes I've used the search function.

cheer

Hi, what you are describing is an awful alot of work. building a body is an entire project all in it self that would take a very long time and alot of energy to do. consider buying a body and saving yourself years of time and energy