Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning Fab Techniques?

Learning Fab Techniques?

I was wondering where someone with very limited skill in fabrication might be able to learn more about it? Is this something where I would be best off just offering my services as an apprentice to a fab guy?

Fabrication is a big field, there is metal fabrication and then there is Plastics fabrication which is a field that's also useful in this hobby. I'd suggest visiting some of the forums on 4x4s and look at builds for Baja vehicles and competition off roaders, also look at roll cage fabrication videos on youtube, there are also some good videos on Fibreglassing, you'll quickly weed out the good from the bad. What Fab skills do you currently posses? If you are a total noob perhaps a night class in Mig welding might be a good idea.

Community colleges offer classes on auto body, welding, machining, etc. that would be a good place to start. You may also find weekend classes or camps listed in the newspaper or craigslist, facebook, etc.

CL,
    I see you are located in L.A.. There are numerous race teams in all forms of motorsport based there, including the Nascar Busch West Series (or whatever they are calling it this year). I can think of four teams in that series from that area just off of the top of my head that would be glad to have a volunteer willing to learn fabrication, Sellers, Nava, Woods, Eshelman, but any race team of any kind is always looking for such a person. Also, all of the driving schools have apprentice programs for maintaining their fleets.

As a kid, the best fab guys were the hot rodders and low rider fabricators. I also learned a ton from the hotrod fab articles. I cut out the articles and rebindered them. The mini truck era hit and we were putting custom taillights in truck roll pans. I also learned a lot from tv car shows. chop cut rebuild, overhauling, etc
    Yellow Vetter Carrera Gt-boxter based
    White Vetter Murcielago-boxter based