Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Front engine to rear help

Front engine to rear help

Hi guys

I'm from the uk and recently bought a countach replica. The guy I bought it from didn't do very well and the chassis snapped where it was so rusty that it's useless.

I am having my own chassis built to race spec with full racing certificate.

My problem so far is not understanding what engine and gearbox I can use to have the mounts made for. I'm new to this but following my dream of owning this car even if I can't afford the real thing.

I just want an idea how to convert a front engine to be in the rear. Do I need to stick to 2 wheel drive or is it possible to use a 4 wheel drive. I know I can just turn the whole thing around or I'll have loads of reverse gears and just one forward.

I would appreciate any ideas no matter how small they are to help me finally get started on this project.

The old chassis it was on was a vw beetle but have now completely stripped the car down so only using the fibre glass she'll

Rob

Can't turn engine round.
    Predictive text

Loads of ways to do it, look at JD's build- pug 406 coupe with the engine and transmission moved to the back
    I've mounted an audi v8 with a 01x audi box in a Mr2 mk3, this is a perfect match for a mid engine rear wheel drive.
    Mr2 mk2 2ltr turbo is another really cheap alternative, stick the rear of the car in there.
    Loads of other alternatives depending on time, budget and skills
    D

the biggest question is, is your wheelbase accurate. That will help with what could be suggested.

You could just take an engine and trans from a front wheel drive car, say a 2000 or newer impala and move it to the rear.