Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Exhaust sound

Exhaust sound

This may be a dumb question, but I'm not a mechanic, and I couldn't even find the answer on Google.

As background, I don't have a kit yet. I'm looking to buy a finished kit sometime in the next 6-12 months. I would like a Ferrari of some kind, and would like it to be fairly accurate (not a 100/100 lol ).

Most of the Fauxrari kits I have seen are on a Fiero chassis, and have a V6 or V8 engine. I don't know anyone who has a real Ferrari, so I don't know what they sound like IRL.

However, on YouTube, the "sound" of the engine or exhaust is different on a kit Ferrari than on a factory Ferrari, or at least on the Testarossa ... I love the look of that car, but the sound of that thing reminded me of a "ricer" Honda.

Sacrilegious? Maybe, but that's what I thought of when I watched an owner's review of a real Ferrari Testarossa. lol

I also like the 308, and saw a kit 308 on eBay. The owner had a video on YouTube. The engine was a V8, and sounded more like a "real 308", so maybe the exhaust sound is related to the engine type... I don't know.

Anyway, is there a way to make the engine of a kit car sound more like the engine of the "real" factory car? Special muffler, etc? Does the answer depend on what kind of engine I have (V6 / V8, etc) vs what is in the factory car?

I hope this makes sense.
    Last edited by Drewbdo; 03-16-2016 at 09:51 AM.

If you're interested in having a replica car with a replica sound you really need to decide what car you want to build first because the engine choice will then largely be determined by what car you build. I completely agree that it's a shame when a nice replica car does not have the engine sound or performance to complement it.