Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where to buy reasonably priced used kit cars from in Australia

Where to buy reasonably priced used kit cars from in Australia

Hey there.

I'm new to the whole kit car thing, I was going to build something up from scratch but someone suggested to grab a used kit car and upgrade that to my liking which honestly was a better idea than what I previously had as most of the hard work was done for me.

Anyway, I don't really know where to find used kit cars from hence why I'm here.

I'm currently in the "Getting ready" stages, I still need to get some mechanics. bodywork, aerodynamics etc books for learning material.

I am somewhat mechanically knowledgeable, but not enough to be able to build a frame up from scratch which is why I'm going down this path,, plus,, it's a learning experience too.

Thanks for any help.

ps: I'm not sure if this is the right section to put this.

I think it's going to be difficult to get a kit car in Australia , I can't imagine there are many for sale

A car from the uk may be your best bet since they are right hand drive . I don't know what the importation rules are for kit cars so be sure to study that

What's your budget ? DNA in the UK would be your best bet as they are reputable builders , contact them . They have quite a nice variety of cars including a Ferrari California based on a retractable power hardtop mercedes sl500
    Last edited by cutlass442; 03-20-2016 at 11:04 PM.

I didn't think it would be difficult to get a kit car here?

I could look into overseas stuff I guess assuming it doesn't end up costing too much.

I was thinking between 5,000 and 10k AUD for something with a 2-5 liter v8 or v6.

Lol 5-10000 aud will get you the shipping .

Good luck finding a running car anywhere near that price

Good kit cars are not cheap . $50k aud on up

well I'm only looking for a project car, I don't care how many k's it has done.

I'm not going to spend 50k or more on it.