Thread: Bodywork questions!

Bodywork questions!

Well, I'm starting to work on the body of the 4Ari - now here's the problem: I've never done major bodywork before. So from what I've read/researched, here's the basic process.
    1) Mix body filler
    2) fill crack/seam with body filler.
    3) Sand with 40/60 sandpaper to get the very rough edges out
    4) Sand with 160ish.

Any tricks of the trade? Here are pics of what I need to deal with:

Re: Bodywork questions!

Suggestion Ari, when mixing your catalyst and filler, DO NOT whip it up, or you will mix in air bubbles. When you sand, they will never come out. Sometimes, using a the bodyshop paste will clean up/smooth out the final prep.
    Good luck, it's an art!
    Sandy

Thanks for the tip Sandy - I've been practicing on other "Projects" (I.E. my Center console) before I do any work on the actual body kit to ensure I don't majorly screw anything up :P

So when mixing the body filler, instead of a whipping motion I should use a "lift-push" method? (Life up a scoop of filler, push it back down, lift up a scoop, push it back down).

I've read that it is also critical to use body filler and sealer that is "designed" to work with the painting system you choose. Otherwise poor adhesion and bleeding can occur.

Regular "bondo" is not the best choice

DKOV -

I have used "Icing" on steel and fiberglass. my kit looks like it was attacked with an ice-pick along the edges. I use icing but wait for about 1 minute after mixing to start applying it so it thickens a little so it doesn't run out of the tiny holes & it resist bubbles. there is different "grades" of icing. however, when I patch a "chunk" I use "kitty hair" a fiber enforced filler, both sand down well w/ 120. i prime 2 coats with a gray epoxy primer no bleed through yet!!-YET

Hi just my two cents worth
    When I'm filling I use a straight edge, plastic on metal to drag along the body line to prevent