Thread: Spacers VS making your own control arms

Spacers VS making your own control arms

Well I know its been done but im gonna do it again ha ha...I was thinking of doing rear controlo arms like Don hs done on his (which are really good) but sicne my dad cannot do them at this time and I am not good at trusting my self not to do them I was woundering about Spacers...I have heard soo much bad but recently I have been hearing about some being good... any suggestions on both? and some pics of spacers with the rims would be nice to to see how noticable it is...
    Brad

Re: Spacers VS making your own control arms

For sure they will be noticeable on the rear. Average size is between 3" and 4" wide adapters.
    Rather than making new control arms, the next time I do this I am going to cut the engine cradle down the middle and widen it instead. Then all I need to do is make a bracket to adapt the lower strut mount, lengthen the axles and remount the engine cradle to the frame.

jdiner ,i would like to do that also,and im like you i think it can be done.but everyone i mention it to says you cant do it.id like to hear how you are going to do it,it looks doable but i have trouble with stufff like that.after seeing your sliding cvt. top it should be easy for you.i think the after,market suspension stuf is way overpriced .ive never lengthened any axles ,would you do that your self,and if you have time id like your thougths on the new strut mount bracket mod.another reason id like to widen the car in this area is because i like the idea of using the most gm parts as i can,ive always had better luck with factory stuff

jdinner, I would love to see you do all of that, right now i can't see every thing that you would have to do but i would love to see some pics and such. How do u widen axles? If you widen Axles would they be able to with stand all the weight and HP?

Thanks,
    Tom