Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Longitudinal transaxle

Longitudinal transaxle

OK here's the deal:
    New here - lotsa good info guys!
    Not new to kit cars - been building *all* kinds of customs (& restorations) for 30 years.
    I'm an artist: cars are my medium. Well most of the time I also build websites & do other "artsy" things...
    I'm currently gathering parts - on a tight budget - for a mid-engine LT1 powered VW Cabriolet.
    I was thinking of using Fiero running gear, & actually have the rear cradle sitting up under the body right now. However, there are some problems with this idea.
    #1 - The Fiero track is 3" wider than the Cab's. Not a big deal I can flare the fenders.
    #2 - The adaptor/flywheel/etc. costs are a little high.
    #3 - The struts are going to be impossible to fit within the confines of the VW 1/4 panels. I was thinking of building upper control arms, & using coilovers.
    #4 - I would really rather put the LT1 in longitudinally.

So my question is: what transaxle should I use that will bolt up to the LT1?* BTW it's a '95 LT1. Does anyone have measurements of available transaxles from center of axles to engine mounting flange - so that I can see what I have room for? Does anyone have a TA for sale. I want a manual; prefer low geared with overdrive 5th (or 6th?).
    I can build the cradle/rear suspension, & in fact will have alot more room to do so using the longitudinal transaxle.
    TIA for all the great advice I know I'm going to get!* ;D
    ~ Paul
    aka "Tha Driver"

Giggle Cream - it makes dessert *funny*!

My in-much-need-of-updating homepage: http://AngelOnEarth.net (pics of some of my cars are on the about me & parts for sale pages, as well as in the photo section, & here http://www.angelonearth.net/Cabrio/Cabrio.html & here http://AngelOnEarth.net/ZCar/ZCar.html .