Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need fiberglass info help...scratch-building fenders and doors....

Need fiberglass info help...scratch-building fenders and doors....

Hey guys,

I'm completely new to the kit car thing, but I have had this idea for the last six years or so to build a particular car on a Fiero platform. Only problem is that no one makes a kit for the body I want to use, and so I will have to make my own. I've worked out the measurements all right, but I have no clue how to properly scratch build large panels like fenders and doors out of fiberglass. Has anyone here done that before, or know anything about it?

Re: Need fiberglass info help...scratch-building fenders and doors....

HI all,

I haven't used this site at all yet....I will someday...! But I've been told anything from books, tools, and mold making can be found here at the site listed below......

link: http://www.fiberglast.com

Me, I sell engines, the cars are free.&nbsp; I need something to crate the engines in.... Enzo Ferrari......<br />Today they are called garage&#039;s, yesterday, they were stable&#039;s.&nbsp; Eric Jacobsen...

you might have some luck calling steve from Triangle G, he makes the plugs for TG. (google them up if you don't know the company)
    818-769-1624 Steve Terteryan

i'm currently scratch building a lip for my mr2. you really need a good workflow to get things done quickly and well. if you use foam to build the shape of the parts, remember to bondo them beofre applying a coat of fiberglass and resin to protect the foam since the resin melts the foam otherwise. you also want to make molds then parts from the molds. you can technically take out the plug materials from the inside out like i am, but the parts wont be very strong (i'm taking molds when im done anyway).
    Professional 3D, web, graphic, architectural, interior, and CAM design at affoardable prices.<br />Any questions: voicemail/fax (323)281-0583<br />sales @ rt-network.com