Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    620

    So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    if you build a stretch Lambo and want to go fast should be on a tube chassis? I want to be able to go over 100 mph... When I had my Corvette I had that thing over 160 MPH. I had a Viper over 167 MPH. I don't just want this car to look good. It has to be scarry fast as well. Can a Fiero handle just as well with extra Re-enforcements and proper coil over suspension and tires? Any sugestions? 8)

  2. #2
    kitcarnut
    Guest

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    I told in other post , I had two Lambos (Fiero base) , the laST ONE 69 LT1. MANY UPGRATES ON REAR AND FRONT
    I could take on some good cars there,but as soon as I want to past 100MPH , to be honest, did not felt safe . and I've seen many of my friends Fiero based reps same story. offcourse no one wants to tell the true. always yeah ah I a need tires, alignment. bump steer, etc.

    my opinion only based on own experience

  3. #3

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    You're building a large car - long and wide. The original weighs nearly 1 1/2 what your replica will weigh. To go fast safely you'll need proper weight distribution and more of it to prevent lift off at speeds approaching 150mph. Unless you want to re-engineer chassis, suspension and steering, you may want to keep it a boulevard cruiser.
    www.kitcarlist.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    620

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    I don't really don't want to use a Tube chassis but maybe to do this car right and the way I want it I might have to go with that. Any one here in Canada know how to build a tube chassis car?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Don's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,410

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    Jim Dinner has an entire website around building a tube frame Diablo. Go to his profile and get the website. I am pretty sure it is there.

    Cheers
    Don
    308 Ferrari replica
    Prova Countach 5000QV

  6. #6
    kitcarnut
    Guest

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    hey, those babies on tube cost lot of dinaros, but well worth it in long run 8)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    620

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    I know that's why I would rather build it on a Fiero. When I see a bare Countach tube chassis I think to my self, MAN! Where do you start?? I wont be happy with this car if it can't even peak at over 150 MPH. Well see what happends.

    Quote Originally Posted by kitcarnut
    hey, those babies on tube cost lot of dinaros, but well worth it in long run 8)

  8. #8

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    These guys sell plans & parts so you can build your own tube chassis cheap:

    Chassisworks Inc.
    6885 Speedway Blvd , Unit Y-113
    Las Vegas, NV 89115
    (702) 644-3584
    www.ChassisworksInc.com

    High-performance chassis turnkeys for Lamborghini kits and also sells
    DIY Countach, Diablo and Murcielago chassis plans and components
    www.kitcarlist.com

  9. #9
    kitcarnut
    Guest

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    Hawk23, ha ha ,not that you would drive 150MPH,speed limit is 55-65 mph! however, it is nice to cruise for bit at 80-90 and know you can push it more if need it.like when Hwy partrol is on you butt LOL

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    620

    Re: So, if you want to go fast you need a tube chassis?

    I really like this company. http://www.countess.co.nz/ They make race cars out of them! also, with the exchange rate there cars are actually affordable. But there in NZ. I know you can't bring a kit car from the US into Canada, I would think the same would apply with trying to bring one in from New Zealand?

Similar Threads

  1. Is a Tube chassis worth it?
    By VF1Skullangel in forum General Kitcar Chat
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 01:09 PM
  2. How to build a tube chassis.
    By FataLDeath in forum General Kitcar Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 08:45 PM
  3. Tube Chassis Build
    By daveheld in forum Build Diaries
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-12-2008, 07:59 PM
  4. tube chassis fiero
    By yannie in forum The Mall
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2006, 11:21 PM
  5. tube chassis
    By Leprechn in forum Technical Discussion & Question
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2003, 07:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •