Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: looking for kit with minimum cutting.

looking for kit with minimum cutting.

I have been looking at a lot of kits lately. I really want to build one when I get back from Iraq. I have looking at Fiero based kits but it seems like everything I've come across requires the frame to be stretched and widened. I want to do as much work as possible myself and I have no experience with that kind of modification. Are there any kits out there that don't require the donor's frame to be cut?

Re: looking for kit with minimum cutting.

Welcome to the forum. I trust this email finds you safe and getting short!

With regard to a kit with minimal cutting, that might be something from Norm's Fiberglass listed on this forum. He makes IMSA race bodies for Fiero's that just need to have the old panels removed and the new wide body panels installed with the addition of brackets. I have simplified that process but it is fairly easy to do.

The next step might be a 308 kit that is a little more work than a wide body kit and you get the Ferrari look. If you choose to move to the next level, John Watson, Air Dynamics located in Tennga, Georgia will get you into a 355 Ferrari on a stock wheelbase Fiero. Several people on this site are building those cars with great success, I have one myself.

You might even find one that someone started and is now available in the Mall Section of theis forum.

Anyway, take care of yourself while you're in country. I have 2 family members there.

Regards,

Dave
    If you're not confused, you're not paying attention.

You can also look for a kit for an unstretched Fiero. There are a few out there for the Countach and Diablo, however the unstretched Diablos look just plain weird (to me). The Countach can get away with it as they're only short by a few inches.

Meddle not with the affairs of the Dragon, for you are crunchy... and taste good with ketchup.<br />http://www.rc-sub.com/resources/grap...ni/avatar2.jpg