Thread: I need an engine...

I need an engine...

Hi!

I am working on a paper project right now, I want to build a mid engined car.
    Defiantly with double wishbone suspension, a limited slip diff, huge brakes...

Hopefully not bigger than a Lotus Elise

The thing is, I need an engine, and I dont dont which.
    The car, as you can imagine wont be as light as a Lotus, so Ill need a liitle bit more horse power.
    Somewhere above 250bhp.

Trouble is, I am completely confused, as to which engine I should get.
    I have experience (and I love) BMW engines, but they too expensive.
    So, I have though of a turbo charged, or supercharged engines. The engines are not that expensive, and Turbos are a fast and easy way of tunig a car.
    I have heard a lot of good about Toyota's 2 litre engines, but I have no experience what so ever with those.

Do you have any experience with a cheap, moderatly realiable engine that can take a lot of punishment ?

(I should note, to the american readers, that I live in Europe... )

Re: I need an engine...

Sounds like you are looking for a light (ie < 350lbs) engine that is inexpensive. This will rule out the V8s. I would look into the Toyota (4AGE comes to mind) or the turbo Subaru engines. The 2.2l Subaru engine I put into my Sterling was 260lb wet when I put it on the scale.

x2 on the subaru engine. I beleive they are set up in a boxer configuration too which could help with fitment. You could use a flipped beetle tranny. They are cheap and there is a huge aftermarket so you could pick any gearing you want.
    Scott

I thought about going that route with my 356 speedster. Problem is you have to really upgrade the beetle box (pref swap it for a van box) to get it to take the strain of the scooby boxer turbo.

If it was me, I would keep the beetle box and drop in a mazda rotary engine. There are a couple of companies that make adaptor plates I could point you in the direction of.