Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone here ever build an "original design" car?

Anyone here ever build an "original design" car?

I was wondering if anyone in the forum has built an "original design" car, using either a new chassis or donor chassis, and a newly fabricated fiberglass body?

If so, please elaborate on the pros and cons and where I could find out more about doing something like that, i.e, who makes the molds, what problems did you run into, expected costs, etc.

Thanks in advance,
    Joe

Re: Anyone here ever build an "original design" car?

Well, I can tell you that something that ambitious requires "baby steps." I mean, I've been building kit cars for myself for 35 years now and I've just started to do some "one off" body parts (wings, ground effects, air cleaners, etc.) for my cars. I'm hopeing that by the time I retire and can do some custom car bodies for myself and car buddies. At the stage I'm at the "lost foam" method is the best for making the parts I need. That involves laying up polyrethane foam bricks, carving and shaping them, then glassing over and dissolving the foam from the back. On wings I leave the foam in along with some steel tube for strength.
    First thing you need to do is get a handle on knowing your materials. Go to this web site first and get their free Fiberglass Book on DVD, they'll only charge you a few bucks for shipping and handling...
    www.fiberglasssite.com
    Next go to www.fiberglast.com and check out all the info. in the Learning Center tab at the top of the page.
    I think that once you've figured out the characteristics of the different materials you would try your hand at some smaller parts the way I'm doing right now.